Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Away...now back. Advice Needed... keep the FZ1?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Away...now back. Advice Needed... keep the FZ1?

Hello all -- just looking for some general advice.

(To preface -- I've been riding bikes since I was 10 -- 40+ years, so I'm not a noob)
    A few years ago, I bought a pristine 2014 FZ1 with less than 1000 miles on it. And of course, right after I bought it, life got very busy, and then the whole COVID debacle started.

Fast forward through all that, and a couple years of not riding at all (!) -- I just uncovered her again, and am wondering about which path to take. Where before I needed a larger bike that could do 2-up riding, I now will be riding mostly solo (no, not divorced just different circumstances).

As I got to thinking about that, it occurred to me that I could very well be just as happy on a smaller, lighter "standard" 500-600cc bike instead of a 1000cc 'sporty' bike. I do like a bike with a sit-straight-up/feet-right-underneath-me riding position (rather like a BMW GS, Bonneville, or some such), so it's not like I want a cruiser... just a 'standard' bike to motor around upon for 1-2 hour rides a few times a week in the suburbs and countryside -- no full-throttle blasts or peg scraping in my rides.

To that end, I was thinking I could try installing some peg lowering kits, and also perhaps buy longer cables and put on taller bars -- all to make the FZ1 more "standard" and get me as upright as possible. But then I got to wondering if I'd be better off just selling and buying a smaller standard bike instead of modding the FZ1. Not even sure what an extremely low-mile 2014 FZ1 goes for these days, so I don't even know what kind of budget I'd be looking at if I did trade.

Anyway -- I know a lot of the people here are long time riders too, and might have some thoughts or advice?

Thanks!